Kenya Film Commission Signs A Memorandum Of Understanding With Bomet County

Kenya Film Commission Signs A Memorandum Of Understanding With Bomet County

On 2nd September 2020, the Kenya Film Commission hosted the Governor of Bomet County Government, H.E. Hillary Barchok who paid a courtesy call at the Commission offices. The Commission and Bomet County have signed a Memorandum of Understanding to establish a framework of collaboration to sustainably promote the development of audio-visual production in Bomet. The main area of collaboration is establishment of a fully equipped Film Hub in Bomet County.

The main objective of these Film Hubs is to encourage growth and creativity among young people at County level by empowering students and aspiring filmmakers to have the necessary skills and techniques that will allow for a smooth transition into the industry. The initiative is aimed at strengthening the local filmmakers’ professional skills and equipping them with information to enable them compete effectively in the local and international film environments.

The Hubs will serve to nurture the existing creative talent among the Youth all over the country.
The Commission has embarked on developing Film Hubs across the Country to satisfy the grassroots film production needs. In collaboration with several partners including Kenya Broadcasting Corporation (KBC) through their studio Mashinani programme, Institutions of higher learning and County Governments will provide space for the Film Hubs in the grassroots. The Hubs will also host Film Residency Programs that will focus on training aspiring filmmakers in month long workshops with industry professionals. The end product of this Program will be a film shot on location in the various Counties.

“The Film Hubs were designed to meet the information and production needs of individuals and organizations in the film industry. These include researchers, students, non-governmental organizations, government organizations, filmmakers, media personnel among others”, notes the Commission CEO, Timothy Owase.
The Commission’s role is to design and equip the Film Hubs to support the production needs of filmmakers in the grassroots. So far, the Commission has rolled a Film Hubs in Dedan Kimathi University of Technology in Nyeri County and two upcoming ones in Vihiga and Migori Counties.

Subscribe to our newsletter